The NoRDF Project Modeling and extracting complex information from natural language text

The NoRDF Project is a scientific project at Télécom Paris that aims to model and extract complex information from natural language text. More precisely, we want to enrich knowledge bases with events, causation, conditions, precedence, stories, negation, and beliefs. In particular, we will investigate the expression of sentiment.

We want to extract this type of information at scale from structured and unstructured sources, and we want to allow machines to reason on it. The project brings together research on knowledge representation, on reasoning, and on information extraction, and aims to be useful for applications such as fake news detection, the modeling of controversies, or the analysis of the e-reputation of a company.

Selected and financially supported by the French National Research Agency (ANR) and the French Defense Innovation Agency (AID) as part of the National Program for AI, the project has a total budget of 1.3 million euros for a four-year period. It also draws on the experience, use cases and financial support of four industrial partners: Converteo, EDF, Groupe BPCE and Schlumberger.

The NoRDF project is led by Fabian Suchanek, Professor at Télécom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, specialist in knowledge bases and ontologies and co-creator of the famous YAGO knowledge base. Chloé Clavel, Professor at Télécom Paris and specialist in natural language processing, is the co-leader of the project on the sentiment analysis component.

See a slideshow
Watch a talk

The NoRDF Project Modeling and extracting complex information from natural language text

La chaire NoRDF est un projet scientifique à l’école d’ingénieurs Télécom Paris qui vise à modéliser et extraire des informations complexes à partir d’un texte en langage naturel. Plus précisément, nous voulons enrichir les bases de connaissances avec des événements, des causes, des conditions, des préséances, des histoires, des négations et des croyances. En particulier, nous étudierons l’expression du sentiment.

Nous voulons extraire ce type d’informations à grande échelle à partir de sources structurées et non structurées, et nous voulons permettre aux machines de raisonner dessus. Le projet rassemble des recherches sur la représentation des connaissances, sur le raisonnement et sur l’extraction d’informations, et se veut utile pour des applications telles que la détection des “fake news”, la modélisation de controverses ou l’analyse de l’e-réputation d’une entreprise.

Sélectionné et soutenu financièrement par l’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR) et par l’Agence de l’innovation de défense (AID) dans le cadre du Programme National pour l’IA, le projet bénéficie d’un budget total de 1,3 million d’euros pour une durée de quatre ans. Il s’appuie également sur l’expérience, les cas d’usage et le soutien financier de quatre partenaires industriels : Converteo, EDF, Groupe BPCE et Schlumberger.

Le projet NoRDF est piloté par Fabian Suchanek, Professeur à Télécom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, spécialiste des bases de connaissances et des ontologies et co-créateur de la célèbre base de connaissances YAGO. Chloé Clavel, Professeure à Télécom Paris et spécialiste du traitement du langage naturel, en est la co-responsable sur le volet de l’analyse des sentiments.

Voir une présentation (en anglais)

Actualités Toutes les actualités

Aucun événement à venir